Northumberland Taxpayers Coalition Budget Presentation To County Council

The Northumberland Taxpayers Coalition Takes a Pioneering Approach to Fighting Taxes

A new countywide taxpayers group formed this fall in Northumberland announced today that it will be making its first delegation to County Council tomorrow.

The Northumberland Taxpayers Coalition (NTC) is comprised of The Port Hope Ratepayers Association, the Cobourg Taxpayers Association, The Cramahe Community Association and the Citizens Council for Hamilton Township.

Earlier this fall the NTC met with Jennifer Moore, C.A.O. for Northumberland County, and Glenn Dees, Director of Finance for Northumberland County. They held a wide-ranging discussion with the two key people responsible for developing the County budget. During the meeting, Ms. Moore commented it was the first time she had ever been asked to explain the budget process. The NTC found this surprising, given that County taxes represent about 30% of the average taxpayer’s property tax bill.

On Wednesday, December 14 at 9:30 a.m. in the County chambers in Cobourg at 555 Courthouse Rd., the NTC will be making their first presentation to County Council. The NTC will outline to the mayors of the seven Northumberland municipalities the group’s recommendations on how to make the budget process more transparent, efficient and cost effective. Ultimately, it is the responsibility of the County Council to make changes to the budget and approve it in its final form.

If you are concerned about the level of taxation in the County, the NTC encourages residents to attend the meeting and hear the group’s budget recommendations.

2016-12-14 County Council-NTC Delegation