CTA applauds council on killing $312K NMAI grant

The Cobourg Taxpayers Association (CTA) today applauded Council’s 6-1 decision to decline the NMAI fee waiver.

“This represents a huge victory for the CTA and Cobourg taxpayers”, said CTA President Lydia Smith.

“We have argued from the beginning that public funds should not be used to fund a private sector commercial building and that it was not permissible under the Municipal Act”.

On November 30, 2015, Committee of the Whole voted 5-2 in favour to waive the $312K in Development and Building Permit fees, with Brian Darling and Larry Sherwin voting against.

“After agreeing to take a sober, second look and conducting proper due diligence over the past two and a half months, last night Council made a fully informed decision and chose to do the right thing”, said Smith.

CTA Director Ken Strauss said that public opposition was instrumental in getting Council to listen and to vote in the public interest.

He thanked the public for taking the time to phone and email members of Council to voice their concerns and for asking important questions they wanted answered.

It is unfortunate that Councillor Debra McCarthy was the sole vote against declining the waiver, said Strauss.

Strauss said that Council has a responsibility to uphold the Municipal Act and to not let passion or emotion trump logic.