At the Committee of the Whole on Monday Nov. 30th, Council passed a motion to waive just over \$300,000 in development charges and fees for Northumberland Medical Arts Inc., a private corporation. The Cobourg Taxpayers Association is strongly opposed to this. (Full details of the delegation opposing this use of our taxes can be found using this link <a href="here">here</a>)

If you don't want to give your hard-earned tax dollars to a non-Cobourg based corporation, please contact town councillors by phone or Email immediately; otherwise, it will become a done deal at the upcoming council meeting on Monday Dec. 7th.

Mayor Brocanier, Deputy Mayor John Henderson, Councillors Debra McCarthy, Theresa Rickerby and Forrest Rowden all voted to waive the fees. Please write and tell them you do not want your tax dollars to be spent this way.

Councillors Brian Darling and Larry Sherwin were the only two opposed. Please write and tell them you are in agreement with their decision to oppose the waiving of the development fees.

Contact information for each Councillor is included below for your convenience. Please phone or compose your own email, or use the samples below.

## Sample

**Dear Mayor Brocanier** 

I am writing to tell you that I am opposed to the waiver of development fees for Northumberland Medical Arts Inc.

Sincerely

Lydia Smith

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Together, we can make a difference.

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Mayor Gil Brocanier

E-mail: gbrocanier@cobourg.ca Phone: 289-251-5939

Deputy Mayor John Henderson

E-mail: jhenderson@cobourg.ca Phone: 289-251-4193

Councillor Theresa Rickerby

E-mail: trickerby@cobourg.ca Phone: 289-251-4146

Councillor Forrest Rowden

E-mail: <a href="mailto:frowden@cobourg.ca">frowden@cobourg.ca</a> Phone: 289-251-0536

Councillor Debra McCarthy

E-mail: <a href="mailto:dmccarthy@cobourg.ca">dmccarthy@cobourg.ca</a> Phone: 289-251-5171

Councillor Brian Darling

E-mail: <a href="mailto:bdarling@cobourg.ca">bdarling@cobourg.ca</a> Phone: 289-251-2177

Councillor Larry Sherwin

E-mail: <a href="mailto:lsherwin@cobourg.ca">lsherwin@cobourg.ca</a> Phone: 289-251-5497







Copyright © 2015 Cobourg Taxpayers Association, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails? You can <u>update your preferences</u> or <u>unsubscribe from this list</u>

