Cobourg Association

News Release

Making Local Government Accountable

For Immediate Release

www.cobourgtaxpayers.ca

August 22, 2019 Cobourg, ON –

CTA ANNOUNCES CHANGE IN LEADERSHIP

Lydia Smith Steps Down; Dennis Nabieszko Elected New President

The Cobourg Taxpayers Association (CTA) today announced that Lydia Smith has advised the Board of Directors she is stepping down as CTA President and as a Director effective immediately.

Dennis Nabieszko has been elected by the Board as the CTA's new President. Paul Pagnuelo has returned to the Board after a health-related absence and was been appointed as a Director and Secretary.

No other change has been made to the remaining roster of Directors and officers.

Nabieszko praised Lydia Smith for her tireless efforts since September 2015 in helping make Cobourg a better place to live, work and invest.

"As one of the CTA's founders, Lydia has been an effective advocate for the citizens of Cobourg. It was an honor to have worked with her over the past four years".

Nabieszko said her skills in building relationships and connections, asking questions that challenge the status quo, nurturing hope, and encouraging people to think outside the box while rising to the occasion "will be difficult to replace."

"I have no doubt that the CTA will continue to be an effective and respected advocate for the citizens of Cobourg," said Smith.

She explained that her decision to step down was not taken lightly and come after months of introspection and thoughtful consideration.

According to Smith she remains committed to helping the community thrive and will be refocusing her core strengths without working through a formal group.

"I have learned about the true power of a team and how by using the collective wisdom of our group we were able to devise better solutions for consideration by Town Council. I am proud of what we have accomplished as a team."

-30-

For more information, please contact Dennis Nabieszko @ 289-829-1551