

News Release

For Immediate Release

December 21, 2015 Cobourg, ON –

CTA wins Newsmaker of the Year Award Northumberland 89.7 Truly Local Radio selects obvious choice

The Cobourg Taxpayers Association has been awarded the first annual 2015 Newsmaker of the Year Award. Northumberland 89.7 Truly Local Radio Board Chair, John Hill, made the announcement last week. The criterion was quite simply, what individual group or organization had the greatest impact on Cobourg during the 2015 calendar year. News reporters, both at the station and externally, were consulted. Other notable suggestions included MP Kim Rudd, Doug Bates and Dave Newland.

According to Hill, "The result was unanimous; the formation of the CTA and its founder Lydia Smith fulfilled our criterion; the position papers put forward and their impact on council made our choice obvious."

The Cobourg Taxpayers Association was formed in September 2015. It has worked hard since then to keep Cobourg Council accountable on many issues of interest to local taxpayers. The CTA's website is updated weekly to keep their growing number of supporters aware of all the CTA's activities; e.g. presentations to town council, updates on financial and governance issues and council survey reports informing taxpayers of how council members are responding to CTA questions.

President Lydia Smith appeared on Northumberland 89.7's Week in Review December 18. She is "delighted that the CTA has been recognized for its dedication and commitment in 2015. 2016 will be a year of continued response to any Council motions and bylaws that contribute to waste at the town hall."

-30-

For more information, please contact

Ken Strauss at 905-377-9854 or visit www.cobourgtaxpayers.ca.